Home » About UCOL » Who We Are » Membership

Council Membership

Malcolm Inglis

Malcolm Inglis (Chair) – Ministerial Appointment

Malcolm Inglis is a management consultant who has worked with numerous tertiary education institutions, health boards and other government agencies. He is a former Deputy Commissioner at the State Services Commission and is a chartered accountant and chartered member of the Institute of Directors. In addition to the UCOL Chair role Malcolm also serves as Deputy Chair of the Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki (WITT) and as Deputy Chair of Whanganui and Partners Ltd. He and his wife Robbie live just out of Whanganui where they enjoy their sustainable lifestyle block and access to the outdoors.

Ben Vanderkolk

Ben Vanderkolk (Deputy Chair) - Ministerial Appointment

Ben Vanderkolk has been Crown Solicitor in Palmerston North since 1987 and practises in criminal and private and commercial litigation. Ben has been a member of the Law Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal and has been a member of the Faculty of the NZ Law Society Litigation Skills Programme.

Ben has served as Chairman of the New Zealand Netherlands Foundation and is presently Chairman of the Te Awahou-Nieuwe Stroom Trust. Since its incorporation, Ben has served as Chairman of the Manfeild Park Trust. He is a member of the Bio Commerce Centre Trust at Palmerston North. Ben is also a Ministerial appointee to the Council of Massey University.

Ben has lived in Palmerston North since 1983 and his children have been educated at Palmerston North schools.

Pamela Jefferies

Pamela Jefferies – Ministerial Appointment

Pamela Jefferies is a professional Director and Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants. Pamela is a former ministerial appointee to the Wairarapa District Health Board, Chief Commissioner Human Rights Commission, Legal Services Board, Equal Opportunities Tribunal Panel, Auckland District Services Committee and the National Housing Commission.

Tom Prebble

Tom Prebble - Council Appointment

Tom Prebble has made a career-long commitment to the tertiary education sector as an academic and administrator. For the past two years Tom has served on the Board of ITP Quality, from 2009 as its Deputy Chair.

In 2006 and 2007 Tom was an Establishment Director for Ako Aotearoa, the National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence, and serves on its Board.

In 2008 he co-authored Taking the Lead: Strategic Management for E-Learning, a joint project between Ako Aotearoa and the Ministry of Education, and has conducted workshops with senior management of tertiary institutions, including UCOL.

From 2002 to 2005 Tom was Professor of Higher Education at Massey University. He was Principal, Extramural and International, at Massey University from 1999 to 2002 and previously Director of Extramural Studies.

Tom holds a PhD from Alberta University, is an Emeritus Professor of Massey University and is based in Palmerston North.

Leonie Hapeta

Leonie Hapeta - Council Appointment

Leonie Hapeta is a Palmerston North City Councillor with strong networks across the local business community. Leonie and her husband and sister own and operate the Coachman Hotel. Prior to that Leonie spent about a decade at Massey University in a series of project planning and change management roles. Leonie has a Masters qualification in Human Resources.

Verne Atmore

Verne Atmore - Council Appointment

Verne Atmore has a successful career in agribusiness and marketing, with a BAgCom (Marketing and Economics). Verne is the Sales and Marketing Manager for Tru-Test Group’s New Zealand business. Prior to joining Tru-Test, Verne held a number of senior management roles including Group Marketing Manager for the Gallagher Group, and CEO of Farmworks Precision Farming Systems. Verne has Ngāi Tahu and Ngāti Kahungunu links.

Lynette Bradnam

Lynette Bradnam - Iwi Appointment

Lynette Bradnam has thirty years of educational experience including Head of School, Te Kura Māori, at Wellington College of Education at Victoria University; lecturer/School Support Services adviser at Wellington College of Education at Victoria University; six years in the Ministry of Education working in the Schooling group and Group Māori Policy team; six years as an Assistant Principal and head of a bilingual unit in the multicultural community of Porirua.

Leanne Southey

Leanne Southey - Ministerial Appointment

Leanne Southey is a Chartered Accountant and is a Director of Southey Sayer Limited, a public accountancy practice based in Masterton.

Leanne is Deputy Chair of the Wairarapa DHB, Deputy Chair of Masterton Trust Lands Trust and a committee member of a number of Wairarapa organisations.

Leanne lives in Masterton and has two teenage children in the education system.

Request Information Apply Now