Skip Navigation Links Home Study at UCOLNCEA explained

NCEA explained

NCEA levels and credits are New Zealand qualifications gained at secondary school that equip students with essential skills for work or tertiary study. 

Many of UCOL's programmes of study require a certain level of NCEA. In general, you need Literacy and Numeracy credits only, however in the case of some qualifications, NCEA credits in certain approved subjects may be required. You may also need to attend an interview, submit a portfolio or provide evidence of relevant skills attained at work.*

NCEA Level 1 or 2 

A Level 3 Certificate or Diploma at UCOL

1 - 2 years of study

NCEA Level 3 or University Entrance**

A Bachelors degree at UCOL

**University entrance requirements comprise NCEA Level 3 (80 credits, 60 of which are at Level 3 or above).

3 - 5 years of study

Work towards NCEA Credits at UCOL
If you don't have enough NCEA Credits for your chosen programme of study, take a look at UCOL's suite of Foundation Skills programmes that may help you towards your study goals.

*Recognition of prior learning
Up to two-thirds of the qualification may be credited via recognition of prior learning.  In exceptional circumstances, this amount may be increased by the Faculty Board of Educational Improvement. 

Applications for Recognition of Prior Learning, including Cross Credit, Credit Transfer and Assessment of Prior Learning may be made on the Recognition of Prior Learning Form where a student believes they can demonstrate specified competencies.