HomeNewsStaff achievement celebrated

Staff achievement celebrated

By UCOL on Wednesday, 04 May 2016

UCOL Te Pūkenga Sport and Exercise Science Lecturer

UCOL Te Pūkenga has announced its 2016 Annual Staff Awards, recognising excellent teaching and support that epitomises the UCOL Te Pūkenga approach to education.

Each award is valued at $5,000 and is used by the winner for relevant personal professional development.

Jointly awarded by the UCOL Te Pūkenga Staff Council and UCOL Te Pūkenga, the awards are open to academic and administrative staff on all campuses and each award has a different focus. The awards were named after past UCOL Te Pūkenga staff and reflect those areas of education about which they were passionate.

The winners of the UCOL Te Pūkenga 2015 Staff Awards are Ray Kui (Information Technology Infrastructure Analyst), Gillian Gosper (Lecturer in Hairdressing), Dr Lukas Dreyer (Associate Professor in Exercise & Sport Science), and Hayden Pritchard (Lecturer in Exercise & Sport Science).

The UCOL Te Pūkenga Staff Council conducts the Staff Awards' application and selection processes. 

the UCOL Te Pūkenga Staff Council Chairperson, Aaron Steele, says the staff awards are announced at the start of each year at the annual staff welcome. 

"The awards recognise staff members for their outstanding organisational contribution, teaching excellence, and research conducted at UCOL."

Information Technology Infrastructure Analyst Ray Kui won the Julia Camden Award for outstanding contribution to organisational development and support. Ray has been a mainstay within UCOL Te Pūkenga, and is described by his colleagues as having a can-do attitude and the ability to get things done. 

Lecturer in hairdressing Gillian Gosper took home the Alan Furness Award for excellence in teaching and learning. Gillian was recognised as always going above and beyond and putting her students first.  She is known for being an innovative, passionate, dedicated, and reflective UCOL Te Pūkenga lecturer.

Committed researcher Dr Lukas Dreyer was given the Derek Lake Award for outstanding contribution to research at UCOL Te Pūkenga. Dr Lukas has made notable research contributions both nationally and internationally over a sustained period of time. Beyond this, his collaborative research projects has added value to UCOL Te Pūkenga and the regional community from the efforts and work conducted through U-Kinetics.

Lecturer in Exercise and Sports Science Hayden Pritchard (pictured) picked up the Gill Presland Award for noteworthy personal and professional progress made by a lecturer in his/her first two years at UCOL Te Pūkenga. Hayden quickly demonstrated his passion for education and inspiring students, and is recognised for his significant contribution at both programme and institutional levels raising the profile of UCOL Te Pūkenga. Hayden is also regarded as a strong researcher.

Previous UCOL Te Pūkenga Annual Staff Award winners have attended international conferences or visited practice areas of interest.