HomeNewsScholarships for effort, dedication, and selflessness

Scholarships for effort, dedication, and selflessness

By UCOL on Friday, 21 June 2019

Andrew Cliff Award recipient Jamie Uncles.

Six UCOL | Te Pūkenga Manawatū students have been rewarded for their effort, dedication to study and the assistance of classmates with scholarships from local Trusts.

The Scholarships were presented by representatives from the Graduate Women Manawatu Trust, and the Palmerston North Jaycee Trust. The scholarship donors have a long history of support for UCOL | Te Pūkenga Manawatū and were delighted with the calibre of applicants. 

Scolarship recipients

Scholarship recipients were from a range of different programmes at the Manawatū Campus. The Jaycee Trust Scolarship was awarded to Munu Karki studying the New Zealand Diploma in Beauty Therapy, and Catherine Orlowski  Bachelor of Nursing first year,  The Graduate Women Manawatū Charitable Trust Scholarship was awarded to Adrienne Jensen, Claire Marara and Tania Frank, all in the third year of the Bachelor of Nursing. .Jamie Uncles studying the New Zealand Diploma in Veterinary Nursing received the UCOL | Te Pūkenga Andrew Cliff Award recognising her support of others in their study.

The ceremony was held at the Manawatū campus where successful recipients and their families along with UCOL | Te Pūkenga staff and classmates gathered to celebrate the scholarship awards.

UCOL | Te Pūkenga staff

Gianetta Lapsley, Executive Director Quality at UCOL | Te Pūkenga hosted the celebration event.  "It was delightful for all who gathered to acknowledge the Scholarship donors' generosity and thoughtfulness of their providing this support. It really makes a difference for a student and their family at just the right time. I was privileged to speak with recipients, their families and our scholarship sponsors following the awards, confirming the extraordinary efforts that our UCOL | Te Pūkenga students make in achieving their educational goals". 

Lead image: Andrew Cliff Award recipient Jamie Uncles.

Middle image: Jaycee Trust Scholarship recipients Catherine Orlowski and Munu Karki.

Bottom image:  Graduate Women Manawatu Charitable Trust (GWMCT) scholarship recipients and representatives. Back row - Anne Walker (Trustee), and  scholarship recipient Adrienne Jensen. Front row - Liz Ponter (Trustee),  scholarship recipients Claire Marara  and Tania Frank, and Glenda Anthony (Chair of GWMCT) .